my-best-posts-on-newtttt

I’m posting this end-of-year “Best” list a little earlier than usual because I’m being to prepare some research-related “All-Time Best” lists (All Of My “All-Time” Best Lists In One Place!).   With all the content I have on this blog, I think readers find those “All-Time Best” lists useful, and it will be easier for me to make these research ones if I publish this annual one now.

The rest of the end-of-the-year lists will begin appearing in November.

You might also be interested in:

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2016 – So Far

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2015 – Part Two

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2015 – So Far

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2014 – Part Two

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2014 – So Far

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2013 – Part Two

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2013 — So Far

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2012 — So Far

My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2011

Here are my choices for My Best Posts On New Research Studies In 2016 – Part Two:

AERA Unveils Treasure Chest Of Research Fact Sheets & Videos

Should SEL Skills Start Including An Explicit Focus On “Conscientiousness”?

THE FUTURE OF EGO DEPLETION RESEARCH is a transcript of an important debate on the theory that self-control is a limited resource. I’ve written a lot about that perspective and how I apply it in the classroom, and you can find all those posts, as well as posts on this debate and its importance, at The Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.

John Hattie’s Research Doesn’t Have to Be Complicated is by Peter DeWitt. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Understanding How To Interpret Education Research.

The Best Research On How Many Decisions A Teacher Makes Each Day

The New Study Headlined “Group Work Harms Memory” Doesn’t Mean What You Think It Does

“What Works Clearinghouse” Unveils Newly Designed Website To Search For Ed Research

Important New Study Looks At Assets, Not Deficits, Of Teen “Defiance”

Monster Study On Learning Strategies Released

Three Studies Show Impact of Deeper Learning is from The American Institutes For Research. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About “Deeper Learning.”

Should Students Explain Their Thinking? Not Always, Research Saysis from Ed Week. It’s a helpful study, though I think it uses a “straw man.” It basically says that student self-explanation is effective as long as they’re giving a correct one. It’s difficult for me to believe that many teachers don’t use guidance to ensure that this is the case. This isn’t the first time I’ve seen researchers use straw men to prove their point. I’m adding the info to The Best Posts On Helping Students Teach Their Classmates — Help Me Find More.

A Systematic Review of the Research on Vocabulary Instruction That Impacts Text Comprehension is from The International Literacy Association. It’s behind a paywall, but looks like it might be worth the money. Thanks to Paul Bruno for the tip. I’m adding it to The Best Sites Where ELL’s Can Learn Vocabulary, where I also have links to lots of other research.

LinkedIn Finds Employers Are Looking For “Soft Skills”

Silence Can Be Golden – Sometimes

So Many Textbooks, So Many Useless Ones

Study Reinforces That Prior Knowledge Is Important – As Well As Critical Thinking Skills

Researchers Find – Once Again – That Extrinsic Motivation Doesn’t Work

If You Read Today’s NY Times Column On Supporting College Freshmen, You’ll Also Want To Read This

The Importance Of Teacher & Student Autonomy

New Study Shows Intervention Has Big Impact On “Achievement Gap” – Also Shows Shortcomings Of Ed Research

Deliberate Practice, The Olympics & Red Herrings

Video & Study Perfect For A Quick TOK Lesson On “The Problem With Slow Motion”

New Study Says Teacher-Student Relationship In Fifth Grade Sets Stage For Future Behavior

Video: “Reading books could help lengthen your life”

Guest Post: Response From David Yeager To My Question About SEL, Race & Class

Great Piece On Setting Goals Like An Olympian

Statistic Of The Day: Reading Helps You Live Longer

The Best Resources On Students Having A “Purpose For Learning”

Hattie Ranking: 195 Influences And Effect Sizes Related To Student Achievement should probably be one of every educator’s “go-to” resources.

The Best Resources On The Study Finding That Reading Books Makes You Live Longer

Math Teaching: What We’ve Learned From Research Over a Decadeis from Ed Week, and seems like it could be very useful to math teachers.

No Big Surprise: Study Finds Rundown School Buildings Hurt Academic Achievement

Opportunities & Dangers Of Big New Growth Mindset Study

The Physical & Psychological Impacts Of Racism

Another Study On Teens & Hearing Loss

“Book Deserts” In Many Of Our Students’ Neighborhoods

A Visit To Your School From Michelle Obama Raises Student Achievement – What About Other Speakers?

What is Worth Reading for Teachers Interested in Research? is a great collection put together by Robert Coe. It covers lots of issues, but I’m adding it to The “Best” Lists Of Recommendations About What “Effective” Teachers Do.

Can Reading Logs Ruin Reading for Kids? is from The Atlantic and discusses important recent research. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Books: Why They’re Important & How To Help Students Select, Read, Write & Discuss Them.

The Best Resources On The Value Of Positive “Self-Talk”

The Best Resources For Learning About Mindfulness In The Classroom

Major Review Of Research Reinforces Findings That Exercise Helps Learning

Another Study Points To The Importance Of Reflection

Quote Of The Day: A Problem With Book “Leveling”

Studies: Attendance & Passing Classes More Important Than Test Scores

The American Academy of Sleep Medicine has released its first recommendations for how much sleep people need at different ages. Here are some articles about it:

Experts unveil new sleep guidelines for children is from CBC News.

How much sleep do kids and teens really need? New recommendations from experts. is from The Washington Post.

Here’s How Much Sleep Babies and Kids Need, By Age is from TIME.

I’m adding them to The Best Resources For Helping Teens Learn About The Importance Of Sleep.