I’ve recently begun this weekly post where I’ll be sharing resources I’m adding to The Best Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Resources or other related “Best” lists:

Nearly half of California school districts earn top ratings for lowering suspensions is from Ed Source. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Restorative Practices – Help Me Find More.

Suspending Students Costs Billions in Economic Losses, New Study Finds is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to the same list.

The Difference between a Motivation Problem and a Discipline Problem is from Mindsteps. I’m adding it to Best Posts On “Motivating” Students.

ASCD summarizes a recent study on the economic benefits of SEL:

Across all six programs, the study found that “identified benefits outweigh the costs by a factor of 11:1.”

Got grit? Maybe . . . is from Kappan Online provides good cautions about the effort to measure grit. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Importance Of “Grit”

Forget Grit. Focus on Inequality. appeared in Ed Week. I’m adding it to the same list.

The Surprising Benefits of Gratitude comes from Fast Company. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On “Gratitude”

I’ve previously shared the research of Kirabo Jackson, who has found that evaluating teachers using test scores often miss the positive impact teachers have on social emotional learning skills development.

Now, some new research reinforces what he found.

From a new study, Teacher Quality, Test Scores and Non-Cognitive Skills: Evidence from Primary School Teachers in the UK:

I also find that teachers’ effects on test scores and non-cognitive skills are not strongly correlated, so that many teachers who increase
non-cognitive skills do not raise test scores, and vice versa.

Jackson himself has also found some very interesting data in some of his new research: