Each week, I publish a post or two containing three or four particularly useful resources on classroom instruction, and you can see them all here.

You might also be interested in The Best Articles (& Blog Posts) Offering Practical Advice & Resources To Teachers In 2016 – Part Two and The Best Resources On Class Instruction In 2017 – Part Two.

Here are this week’s picks:

When Readers Struggle: Background Knowledge is from Russ on Reading. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Importance Of Prior Knowledge (& How To Activate It).

8 Strategies to Quickly Assess Prior Knowledge is by Barbara Blackburn, and appeared in Middleweb. I’m adding it to the same list.

Using Jilk’s (2016) “It was smart when…” statement to name and notice students’ mathematical strengths is from Embracing Life With Major Revisions. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Looking At Our Students Through The Lens Of Assets & Not Deficits and to The Best Apps, Online Tools & Other Resources For Math.

I think this tweet is interesting, though I’ll leave it to math teachers to determine how useful it is: