I publish a regular series called SEL Weekly Update, and I thought it would useful to readers and to me to review them and highlight the ones I think are the best of the year.

You might also be interested in “Best” Lists Of The Week: Social Emotional Learning Resources. All my “Best” lists related to SEL, including previous editions of this Best list, can be found there.

I’ll be adding this list to ALL MY END-OF-YEAR “BEST” LISTS FOR 2018 IN ONE PLACE!

Here are my choices from the past six months:

How Well Do Rewards and Incentives Work to Motivate You? is from The NY Times Learning Network, and it has nearly 150 student responses. I’m adding it to  Best Posts On “Motivating” Students.

If You Want to Get Better at Something, Ask Yourself These Two Questions is from the Harvard Business Review. The two questions are:

“One: Do you want to do better?”

“Are you willing to feel the discomfort of putting in more effort and trying new things that will feel weird and different and won’t work right away?”

I’ve used versions of both over they years fairly effectively. They coincide with the old community organizer adage – if you don’t give people the opportunity to say no, they won’t have the opportunity to say yes, either.

Come Together: A Thematic Collection of Times Articles, Essays, Maps and More About Creating Community is from The NY Times Learning Network. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Developing A Sense Of Community In The Classroom.

If I can do it, so can you! Peer effects on perseverance is a new study. I’m adding it to the same list.

Talking About Failure Is Crucial for Growth. Here’s How to Do It Right. is from The NY Times. I’m adding it to The Best Posts, Articles & Videos About Learning From Mistakes & Failures.

High Achievers Have More Grit Than Talent is from Forbes. I think it would be an excellent text for students. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About “Grit”

Does offering students a choice in assignments lead to greater engagement? is from Digital Promise. I’m adding it to The Best Posts & Articles About Providing Students With Choices.

I’m adding this tweet to The Best Questions To Use For Class Closing Activities — What Are Yours?:

I’m adding this tweet to The Best Resources On Student Agency & How To Encourage It:

Try to Resist Misinterpreting the Marshmallow Test is from Behavior Scientist. I’m adding it to Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.

Applying an Equity Lens to Social, Emotional, and Academic Development is from Pennsylvania State University.

Here’s Why Anxiety Contagion Is Inescapable is from The Cut. I’m going to use it to help students see how they can impact their classmates, so am adding it to The Best Resources On Developing A Sense Of Community In The Classroom.

7 simple ways to encourage metacognition in the science classroom is from A Chemical Orthodoxy. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Metacognition.

A Simple Plan for Significantly Increasing Student Motivation to Write is from Matthew Johnson. I’m adding it to Best Posts On “Motivating” Students.