RyanMcGuire / Pixabay

 

Research has shown that saying a few key words can go a long way to enhance relationships (both teacher/student – The Best Resources On The Importance Of Building Positive Relationships With Students – and in general) and success.

Saying “please” encourages compliance and saying “I’m sorry” can have lots of benefits (see The Best Resources On The Importance Of Saying “I’m Sorry”).

I use both all the time in and out of the classroom.

A new study has found that saying “thanks” can have a big positive impact on a couple’s relationship.  I don’t think there’s any reason to believe that it can’t also have a similar impact on teacher/student relationships.

It’s another word I use all the time.

I mean, really – why wouldn’t teachers want to model that kind of civility?

Especially these days….