Angie Thomas, the author of The Hate U Give, has a new book being published this week titled On The Come Up.

I’m looking forward to reading it, and I’m sure everyone else is, too.

We may not be able to read that quite yet, but we all can read a lengthy and fascinating interview with her in today’s The Guardian.

It’s headlined Angie Thomas, author of The Hate U Give: ‘Books play a huge part in resistance.’

I’ve previously shared interviews with her:

Quote Of The Day From Angie Thomas: Books Create Empathy

New PBS News Hour Video: Interview With Angie Thomas, Author Of “The Hate You Give”

Here’s a long quote from The Guardian interview. It is long, but I haven’t quite heard the “doors and windows” metaphor described exactly like this before, and thought it was worth highlighting in full:

 

I’m adding this post to Best Posts On Books: Why They’re Important & How To Help Students Select, Read, Write & Discuss Them.