BiljaST / Pixabay

Five years ago I began this regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention.

You might also be interested in The Best Resources, Articles & Blog Posts For Teachers Of ELLs In 2018 – So Far and THE BEST RESOURCES, ARTICLES & BLOG POSTS FOR TEACHERS OF ELLS IN 2018 – PART TWO. Also, check out A Collection Of My Best Resources On Teaching English Language Learners.

In addition, look for our new book on teaching ELLs, which was published in the Spring of 2018.

Here are this week’s choices:

Award-winning teachers plan ‘Teach-In For Freedom’ to remind Americans that thousands of immigrant kids are being held in border camps — and to call for their release is from The Washington Post.

Cash-Strapped Teachers Are Getting Up Early to Tutor Students in China is from Ed Week.

The February issue of my favorite ELL journal, Humanising Language Teaching, is online now.

A new interactive “data story” from the Department of Education “presents the most recent data on EL academic proficiency for states and selected urban school districts. It also provides state-level EL high school graduation rates and insights into changes in EL graduation and proficiency rates over time.” I’m adding it to The Best Ways To Keep-Up With Current ELL/ESL/EFL News & Research.

Error correction in the ELT classroom is from Breakout English. I’m not sure I agree with everything in it, but it does make a lot of useful points. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On ESL/EFL/ELL Error Correction.

Google Home can now translate conversations on-the-fly is from TechCrunch.

English-Learners and Reclassification: Principals Play Pivotal Role, Study Finds is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Ins & Outs Of Reclassifying ELLs.

Do Children Learn English More Easily Than Adults? is from TESOL. I’m adding it to THE BEST RESEARCH ABOUT THE BEST AGES FOR ELLS TO LEARN ENGLISH.

50 million words: Bilingual literacy app showing signs of success in Pajaro Valley is from The Santa Cruz Sentinel.

Integrating DLLs’ Home Language in the Classroom Does Not Hobble English Learning, New Study Finds is from New America. I’m adding it to The Best Resources Explaining Why We Need To Support The Home Language Of ELLs.

I’m adding this next tweet to The Best Resources For Doing Classroom Observations:

I’m adding this tweet to The Best Sites For Cooperative Learning Ideas: