Six years ago, in another somewhat futile attempt to reduce the backlog of resources I want to share, I began this occasional “Ed Tech Digest” post where I share three or four links I think are particularly useful and related to…ed tech, including some Web 2.0 apps.

You might also be interested in THE BEST ED TECH RESOURCES OF 2019 – PART ONE, as well as checking out all my edtech resources.

You might also want to explore The 56 Best Web 2.0 Applications For Education In 2018 and THE BEST WEB 2.0 APPLICATIONS FOR EDUCATION IN 2019 – PART ONE.

Here are this week’s choices:

AltSchool’s out: Zuckerberg-backed startup that tried to rethink education calls it quits is from The San Francisco Chronicle. As I wrote on Twitter: Another non-educator trying to disrupt schools bites the dust

Brancher is an iPhone app that can be used to create “Choose Your Own Adventure” stories.  I’m adding it to The Best Places To Read & Write “Choose Your Own Adventure” Stories.

Here’s a Google Docs template for creating CYOA stories.

Bookmark is a new tool for creating websites, though I’m not adding it to The Best Ways For Students Or Teachers To Create A Website.

Teachers can set up virtual classrooms with Deck Toys, though I haven’t been able to figure out exactly how “students become heroes for your lesson adventures.” So I’m not yet ready to add it to The Best Sites Where Students Can Work Independently & Let Teachers Check On Progress.

EduFlow seems like a fairly simple way for teachers to create virtual classrooms and have students do assignments.  I am adding it to the previously-mentioned “Best” list.

Wofox is a new photo-editing tool that has lots of bells-and-whistles.  I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Online Photo-Editing & Photo Effects (you may still need to request an invite, but I received mine pretty quickly).

The Gates Foundation spent $775m on a Big Data education project that was worse than useless is from Boing Boing. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The Role Of Private Foundations In Education Policy.