eslfuntaiwan / Pixabay

 

Early next year schools around California will begin administering the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC), which must be given to all English Language Learners.

Though I am no stranger to ethical test prep for standardized tests (see Best Posts On How To Prepare For Standardized Tests (And Why They’re Bad) and, in particular, my article on “Ethical and Effective Test Prep”), I’ve never done any specific prep with students for the ELPAC or its predecessor, the CELDT.

However, I have begun thinking that a very short session on test-taking strategies couldn’t hurt our ELLs and, in fact, might increase reduce any anxiety they might have about it – and that is only a good thing.

As a first step towards thinking about what I might do, I did a quick Twitter search and have embedded tweets below that might be helpful.

I hope readers will contribute more, and I’ll share what I end up doing next year.

English Language Proficiency Assessments – What’s Happening Here In California & Elsewhere

Warm-Ups for The ELPAC is from The Bakersfield School District.