I just learned that Google recently began a program called Google for Education Distance Learning Support Program:

Google for Education offers distance learning support programs for schools that are closed. The contents include a Chromebook free loan, G Suite for Education new registration support, and online content for distance learning.

Google mentioned it in a post last week, and you can read all about it here (it’s in Japanese, but your browser can translate it into English).

Yes, I know that Japan has fewer students than in the United States, and I would bet (though I have no evidence to back it up) that a higher percentage of students have devices there than here.

I think that program is great, and they should continue and expand it!

But, if as the Governor of Ohio suggested today,  we are out the entire year, and at least some Internet companies are providing free Internet to students (see INTERNET COMPANIES OFFER FREE ACCESS TO STUDENTS – I GUESS IT’S BETTER LATE THAN NEVER), could Google strike some kind of similar deal with U.S. districts?

I’m adding this info to The Best Advice On Teaching K-12 Online (If We Have To Because Of The Coronavirus) – Please Make More Suggestions!