Let Me Know If You’re Teaching K-12 Students Online Because Of COVID-19 & Would Like To Write A Guest Post About Your Experiences

I’ve obviously been spending a lot of time on online teaching and learning issues lately (The Best Advice On Teaching K-12 Online (If We Have To Because Of The Coronavirus) – Please Make More Suggestions!), and I’m not the only one.

Interactive videos can be one helpful instructional tool.

Here are my choices for the best – and easiest – ways taking any existing video and making it interactive for online learning (they can also be used in-classroom, of course) – let me know if you have other suggestions.  You can easily track student progress with all of them:

The iSL Collective may be the most helpful online site in the world to ELL teachers, and it’s easy to use the zillions of interactive videos they have or make your own. See A Look Back: Another Reason iSLCollective Is One Of Top Sites For ELLs – Their New Online Homework Feature! for details.

TED-Ed makes it super-easy to create questions for any video you choose, and students don’t have to register to see them and answer the questions.  Teachers automatically receive reports on student progress.  Its features are not as “interactive” as the other sites on this list (students watch the entire video and then answer questions), but its ease-of-use is a big advantage.

ESL Video is great for ELLs though, like TED-Ed, its “interactivity” comes after the video is watched instead of during it, as is the case with the iSL Collective and EDPuzzle, the next one on this list. See “ESL Video” Improvements Turn Good Site Into Great One.

EDPuzzle is probably the most popular one on this list. Richard Byrne just published an excellent guide for using it at How to Create Video Lessons Without Making Your Own Recordings.

 

Let me know what I’m missing.

Kevin, an ELF teacher in Japan, did just that and reminded me of a tool I should have included on this list: Fluent Key

Here’s what he wrote about it:

I’ve found Fluentkey.com works better than EdPuzzle for my EFL students here in Tokyo. It Is designed by a language teacher. Great support too.

You can see my previous post about it at “Fluent Key” Looks Like A Wonderful Video Tool For All Teachers

THE EDUCATOR’S GUIDE TO USING VIDEO IN TEACHING AND LEARNING is from The Edublogger.

You might also be interested in:

A POTPOURRI OF THE BEST & MOST USEFUL VIDEO SITES

 

Addendum: Quizizz is not a video site.  It’s a quiz site that my students love do use at school and, if and when I have to do formal online learning classes (our district is not there yet. Now it’s just informal – see HERE’S MY ONLINE TEACHING PLAN IF OUR SCHOOL CLOSES DOWN BECAUSE OF THE CORONAVIRUS ) I would certainly use it often.