Reflections on Our Favorite Teachers is the headline of my latest Education Week Teacher column.

Four educators reflect on their own favorite teachers and the support and encouragement those past models provided to them.

I also include this COVID-19 commentary:

Editor’s Note: Obviously, the main thing on all of our minds is not the qualities of our favorite teachers—it’s the coronavirus and its impact on our society, our students, our families, and on us.  Ed Week has been doing a tremendous job covering its impact on schools, and I have been posting related resources and advice every day at my Websites Of The Day blog (see The Best Advice On Teaching K-12 Online (If We Have To Because Of The Coronavirus) – Please Make More Suggestions!).  And, of course, I’ve been trying to figure out how to support my own students as our district shuts down.

Nevertheless, in this time of crisis, reading and thinking about non-coronavirus topics can be a welcome diversion now and then.  I put thinking about and reading about our favorite teachers into that “welcome diversion” category.

Here are some other excerpts from the column: