cbaquiran / Pixabay

 

I have several students who have had birthdays this week or having ones coming up, and I know they re less-than-thrilled with being at home.  I’ve encouraged them to try video conference parties, but they’re not yet comfortable with using this kind of tech.

I did send them some of the tools on this list and that at least said they enjoyed them.  Of course, they might also have been humoring me.

Do with these what you will (you might also be interested in The Best “Today In History” Sites):

The OED birthday word generator: which words originated in your birth year? is an interactive from the Oxford English Dictionary that does what its title says.

The Atlantic has unveiled the “Life Timeline” interactive.Use a “drop-and-drag” menu to input your birthday, and it will deliver a visually engaging history of the key events that have happened during your lifetime. The timeline includes political, cultural, technological and other kinds of developments, along with an intriguing short summary. You can read more about the Life Timeline tool here.

Find the #1 Song on the Day You Were Born

What Did Hubble See on Your Birthday? is from NASA.

The Time Traveler will show you words added to the Merriam Webster Dictionary in the year of your birth.

Please let me know of others I should add to this list!