Earlier today, I read an Edutopia piece headlined A Daily Ritual That Builds Trust and Community Among Students. It was written by teacher Henry Seton.

In it, he describes a daily ritual he has in his class where students take turns dedicating that day of learning to someone who has inspired him. It’s worth reading the whole piece.

I think it’s a great idea, and am introducing a version tomorrow that I modified for distance learning.

I’ve created a slideshow for each class, and students will sign-up for a day and create a slide. The one at the top of this post is my model.

The student will present at the start of the class, we’ll all applaud, and then move one. We’ll also have the slideshow with everyone’s dedications accessible, and I’m thinking I can use it for reflective activities at now-and-then.

I’ll keep you posted about how it goes!