Tomorrow is our first day of concurrent/hybrid teaching after over a year of distance learning.

Here is what the front looks like:

 

I’ve previously described the technical set-up at Here’s My Tech Set-Up For When We Begin Concurrent Teaching – Let Me Know How I Can Make It Better.

It’s pretty much as I described it there, with two changes:

  • I did connect a Chromecast to the overhead computer projector, so that makes one less wire I have to deal with (it allows me to project the screen of my laptop to the front for in-person students).
  • I have the audio of the PolyCam off (it’s sitting on a box because they sent it missing a screw for the tripod) and it’s facing the classroom so students in Zoom can see in-person students.  I’m hopeful it will contribute a bit to a sense of community.

Of course, it’s highly likely that I will be making changes after the first couple of days.

For a point of comparison, here’s what my classroom looked like on the first day of school in August of 2019: