My mid-year “Best” list posts continue…

I’m adding this post to All 2021 Mid-Year “Best” Lists In One Place!

I publish a regular series called SEL Weekly Update, and I thought it would useful to readers and to me to review them and highlight the ones I think are the best of the year.

You might also be interested in “Best” Lists Of The Week: Social Emotional Learning Resources. All my “Best” lists related to SEL, including previous editions of this Best list, can be found there.

Here are my choices from the past six months:

Setting Priorities in Trauma-Informed Education is by Alex Shevrin Venet. I’m adding it to The Best Ways For Responding To Student Trauma – Help Me Find More.

Why you don’t learn from failure is from Character Lab. I’m adding it to The Best Posts, Articles & Videos About Learning From Mistakes & Failures.

A Writing Exercise That Helps Students Build Resilience is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to THE BEST RESOURCES FOR LEARNING ABOUT THE CONCEPT OF RESILIENCE.

I’m adding this tweet to The Best Articles About The Study Showing Social Emotional Learning Isn’t Enough:

Self-Control: 8 Fascinating New Insights From Psychological Research is from PsyBlog. I’m adding it to Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.

This Two-Minute Morning Practice Will Make Your Day Better is from The Harvard Business Review. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Students Setting Goals,  as well as to The Best Resources On The Value Of Positive “Self-Talk” and to Best Posts On Helping Students “Visualize Success”

Why Mindfulness And Trauma-Informed Teaching Don’t Always Go Together is from KQED. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Mindfulness In The Classroom.

Social-Emotional Learning or ‘White Supremacy with a Hug’? Yale Official’s Departure Sparks a Racial Reckoning is from The 74.

NEW STUDY SUGGESTS “SCHOOL BELONGINGNESS” IS KEY TO ENCOURAGING HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT MOTIVATION

GOOD ADVICE ON TALKING WITH PEOPLE WHO DISAGREE WITH YOU – WITH SOME BLIND SPOTS

LOOKING THROUGH THE LENS OF ASSETS WORKS IN THE CLASSROOM AND…IN THE NBA

I THINK THIS IS A BRILLIANT IDEA FOR AN OPENING CLASS RITUAL – HERE’S HOW I’M MODIFYING IT FOR DISTANCE LEARNING

THE BEST RESOURCES FOR HELPING STUDENTS – & US – DEVELOP GOOD HABITS

EXCELLENT VIDEO TO USE WHEN TEACHING ABOUT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR MISTAKES

When Social-Emotional Learning Is Misused is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to The Best Articles About The Study Showing Social Emotional Learning Isn’t Enough.

Student Motivation and Associated Outcomes: A Meta-Analysis from Self-Determination Theory is a big new study that reinforces most previous research – that we need to focus on intrinsic motivation. I’m adding it to Best Posts On “Motivating” Students.

The Reason Self-Control Is So Hard To Boost is from PsyBlog. I’m adding it to Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.

A Fuller Picture of What a ‘Good’ School Is is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Resources.

To Increase Persistence, Write About Success is by Angela Duckworth. I’m adding it to The Best Posts, Articles & Videos About Learning From Mistakes & Failures.

CASEL Is Updating the Most Widely Recognized Definition of Social-Emotional Learning. Here’s Why is from The 74.

 

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)  released a huge report titled Sky’s the limit: Growth mindset, students, and schools in PISA

The report has a ton of great information about Carol Dweck’s “growth mindset” concept.

I have to say, though, I’m not entirely convinced that a ton of conclusions about who has and does not have a growth mindset can be accurately measured by what they did – which is basically ask just one question:

In PISA 2018, about 600 000 students from 78 countries and economies were surveyed to depict the landscape of growth mindset for 15 year-olds. PISA 2018 asked students whether they agreed (“strongly disagree”, “disagree”, “agree”, or “strongly agree”) with the following statement: “Your intelligence is something about you that you can’t change very much”. Disagreeing with the statement is considered a precursor of a growth mindset, as it is more likely that someone who thinks intelligence can change will challenge him/herself to improve it.