Ten years ago, in another somewhat futile attempt to reduce the backlog of resources I want to share, I began this occasional “Ed Tech Digest” post where I share three or four links I think are particularly useful and related to…ed tech, including some Web 2.0 apps.

You might also be interested in THE BEST ED TECH RESOURCES OF 2021 – PART ONE, as well as checking out all my edtech resources.

Here are this week’s choices:

Miracle of miracles! Google Classroom is finally adding the ability to schedule future assignments in multiple classes.

Zoom is making it easier to use its features on a Chromebook.

Fotobabble was one of the first online tools that let you easily upload images and provide audio narration.  Unfortunately it went under.  Now, it has been resurrected!  Truthfully, it seems pretty basic now, and I’m not sure if it would be my “go-to” tool, but it still is quite easy to use.  You can see what I created with it here.

Autosub provides subtitles in various languages…automatically to videos.

Along is a new tool launched by the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative that is:

a digital reflection tool designed to help teachers make each of their students feel seen and understood. It lets students send quick video, audio or text directly to their teacher so they can open up about who they are and what’s really on their mind.

When I consider all the things – tech and otherwise – that could help me in the classroom, I’m not entirely sure that this is what I need – Google Classroom and Flipgrid can do the same thing.  But maybe I’m missing something.

Debate Island is an online site for student debates.  I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Students To Create & Participate In Online Debates.

ChatterPix Kids – Create Talking Pictures for an Educational Purpose is from Richard Byrne.

Tiger Global leads $31.5M investment in interactive edtech Quizizz is from TechCrunch.

Amazon’s latest Alexa trick is helping kids read is from The Verge.

The Learning Agency is launching a pretty intriguing contest for people with ideas for new edtech tools. You can learn about the winners of last year’s winners here. They include a free adaptive learning tool called Podsie.

Wayto.me is yet another free tool for creating free websites.  There are so many now that I’m not adding more to The Best Ways For Students Or Teachers To Create A Website.

Pixelhunter automatically resizes photos for the social media app you want to use.  I’m adding it to The Best Sites For Online Photo-Editing & Photo Effects.

TikTok expands max video length to 3 minutes, up from 60 seconds is from TechCrunch.