WikiImages / Pixabay

 

I cannot believe I am just now learning about FANgeopolitics game.  It basically lets teachers create a fantasy sports league but, instead of sports teams, students “draft” countries and earn points by reading articles about them.

Jeff Kuhn wrote about ways to do something similar with English Language Learners – with or without using the FANgeopolitics game.  You can see his post here and his entire lesson plan here.  I could see myself introducing this in the second semester of my ELL World History class this coming school year.

Interestingly, the FANgeopolitics games appears to be part of something larger called Fan School. Even though I spent some time looking through the site, I couldn’t learn exactly what it does, but my impression is that they and other educators use the site to create similar games with a current events focus.