Ten years ago, in another somewhat futile attempt to reduce the backlog of resources I want to share, I began this occasional “Ed Tech Digest” post where I share three or four links I think are particularly useful and related to…ed tech, including some Web 2.0 apps.

You might also be interested in THE BEST ED TECH RESOURCES OF 2021 – PART ONE, as well as checking out all my edtech resources.

Here are this week’s choices:

A company called Certell has released a series of online Social Studies classes that are available for free to teachers and to students. The progam is called Poptential. I’m considering trying it out a little in my ELL Government class sometime this year. If I was teaching U.S. History, I might also consider using it as a supplement in that class.  I’m adding this info to I’M PLANNING TO USE THESE FOUR ONLINE TOOLS WHEN I TEACH GOVERNMENT TO ELLS NEXT YEAR – DO YOU HAVE OTHER SUGGESTIONS?

Focusli says they have identified thirty different types of music that you can listen and effectively study.  Who knows?  I’m adding it to The Best Research On Listening To Music When Studying.

Rumie has a zillion short courses on different topics, and you can upload your own.  I’m wondering if creating one might be a good student activity?  I’m adding it to The Best Places Where Students Can Create Online Learning/Teaching Objects For An “Authentic Audience”

Reading Progress in Microsoft Teams to improve student reading fluency – now rolling out globally! is from Microsoft. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Reading Fluency (Including How To Measure It).

Siftr is a “citizen science app that allows you to create projects for any topic, from biology and ecology to photography and language studies. Participants will use your project to go out into the field and collect data.” I’m adding it to THE BEST SITES WHERE STUDENTS CAN PARTICIPATE IN CITIZEN SCIENCE PROJECTS.

Canopy Education looks interesting. It lets teachers create lessons and entire units, and also lets students access them.  They also have specific contests for educators to create these lessons and units – for example, on the 1619 Project.  I’m adding it to The Best Sites Where Students Can Work Independently & Let Teachers Check On Progress and to The Best Places On The Web To Write Lesson Plans — Who Have I Missed?

Quizlet plans for IPO over a year after hitting unicorn status is from TechCrunch.

Coming Soon: A Whole New Way to Collaborate Using Zoom Whiteboard is from Zoom.