Which is best? Analytic or synthetic phonics? is a post from literacy researcher Timothy Shanahan.

The most important point he makes, I think, is the key to successful phonics instruction is just doing it in some kind of systematic way:

What we meant by systematic is that successful decoding instruction employed a specific sequential phonics curriculum.

That makes sense to me.  I do phonics instruction inductively – in a systematic way – and it appears to be effective.

I would, however, make an important addition.

Yes, it has to be done systematically.

But it also has to be done in an engaging way, and not through “drill-and-kill.”

Inductive instruction enhances critical thinking skills and makes phonics like a puzzle.

I’m adding this info to The Best Articles & Sites For Teachers & Students To Learn About Phonics, where you can learn more details about teaching it inductively.