I thought that new – and veteran – readers might find it interesting if I began sharing my best posts from over the years. You can see the entire collection here.

This post originally appeared in 2018:

 

I’ve written and shared a fair amount about bias in the classroom (see Resources To Help Us Predominantly White Teachers To Reflect On How Race Influences Our Work).

The Harvard Business Review just published a piece of research that should give all teachers, especially those of us who are white, more on that topic to think about…

Leaders Aren’t Great at Judging How Inclusive They Are is the title of the article, and it talks about research done on thousands of people in leadership positions in business.

I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that it could apply to teachers, but I’m open to hearing conflicting opinions.

Here’s an excerpt from that article:

So, if we think we’re bias-free or are doing a great job on minimizing it in the classroom, perhaps we should think again…