mohamed_hassan / Pixabay

 

Last week, I posted about individual conversations I’ve been having with each of my ELL Newcomer students (seeTHE “STUDENT PERSONAL REPORTS” I’M CO-CREATING WITH MY ELL NEWCOMER STUDENTS & WHAT WE’RE DOING WITH THEM).

Part of those conversations focused on work students could do at home to further their English skills, and these activities included:

  • Watching a movie in English and writing about it.
  • Looking at a photo about writing about it in English.
  • Reading a simple book in English and writing about it.

Here are the downloadable scaffolded forms that students can use with each of those activities:

Writing About A Movie

Writing About A Picture

Writing About A Book

 

I’m adding this info to THE BEST RESOURCES TO HELP EDUCATORS TEACH ELL NEWCOMERS.