I’ve decided to use the final week of school in my IB Theory of Knowledge class to learn about Artificial Intelligence.

As I’ve previously posted, I gave students guidance on how to use ChatGPT ethically for our final essay.

I thought an AI unit would be a high-interest way to end the school year.  It’s still a work in progress – let me know your ideas on how to improve it!

 

NOTE: I’ve adding a new introductory lesson: A New Way I’m Introducing My Artificial Intelligence Unit To Students – With Handout

TWO NEW ARTICLES I’M ADDING TO MY ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE UNIT

 

FIRST DAY

Introduce the unit and then students will do a jigsaw on this Washington Post article, A curious person’s guide to artificial intelligence.

As part of the explanation of the unit, I will tell students that their final, in groups of no more than four people each, will be to develop recommended guidelines for student AI use that I will share with all of our school’s teachers, as well as with school and district administrators as they are developing them now.

 

SECOND DAY

The next day will be a day of videos on EdPuzzle, along with doing the first activity from a great Facing History lesson on AI.  Since I’m not sure direct links to EdPuzzle will work if you’re not logged into it, I’ve embedded the YouTube versions without questions below:

 

After these first two videos, students will do the Facing History activity which end with their answering this question:

What impact do you think generative AI might have on schools and the way people learn?

They’ll do it in pairs or alone (their choice), make a simple slideshow with their ideas, and will share in a speed-dating style.

I’ll ask students to make note of anything in common they heard, or anything they though was particularly interesting. We’ll briefly discuss as a class.

If there’s time, and there probably won’t be, we’ll then watch this video.  More likely, we’ll watch it at the beginning of the third day:

 

 

THIRD DAY

If we didn’t get around to watching the third video on EdPuzzle, we’ll start off with seeing it.

Then, we’ll do the second activity in Facing History’s lesson where students review three different options for school guidance on AI use.  They can again work in pairs or alone, and develop a simple slideshow.  They’ll probably need the entire period to work on it.

 

FOURTH DAY

Students will present their slideshows in a speed-dating style and note areas of agreement or disagreement.

I’ll introduce the final, which they can do in groups of up to six people.

They will need to develop a list of guidelines (without the help of ChatGPT, but they  can use the Internet) of at least six ways (they can include the three ways I’ve already given them as guidance, if they choose) they think students should be able to responsibly use ChatGPT (or Bard).  Each way should include reasoning for why they think it would help students learn, and include an example of an activity they had to do in some class this year where they think they could have learned more from if they had been allowed to us AI.

In addition, they should include a list of at least six ways that AI should not be used by students, with an explanation of how it would either not be ethical or hurt their learning.

Finally, they should include what they think consequences should be for students who do not use AI appropriately.

They should present their conclusions in a slideshow show using good design practices, along with a Google Doc highlighting key points that I can share with school and district staff.

 

FIFTH DAY

Students will have the period to work on their presentation.  Since it’s a short period, they will likely need half of our extended Finals period to finish it up.

 

SIXTH DAY

This is the day of our Finals.  If I am able to have finish students finish up their essay a day or two earlier, we’ll be able to have students present in front.  If not, they’ll use half of this period to complete their presentations and then share via speed-dating.

I’ll ask students to look for good ideas from others that they want to use to modify their own, and give them time to make those changes.

 

I’m all ears – let me know how to make this better!