geralt / Pixabay

 

I’ve been writing a series of posts about how I’ve been experimenting with Artificial Intelligence during these final weeks of school.

Today, I tried something new with my ELL Newcomers class, and it seemed to go quite well.

They’ve been writing a story using a series of graphic organizers.

They first hand wrote all the content in the graphic organizers into paragraphs.

Next, they typed it into a Google Doc.

Then, they went to Poe, a ChatGPT-type AI that’s not yet blocked by our district, and pasted this prompt:

You are a teacher of Beginning English Language Learners. You want to make as few corrections as possible to the following essay. You don’t want to hurt their feelings, but you want them to learn a few key things about writing in English. Rewrite the essay with as few changes as possible. Then, afterwards, explain in Spanish (or a different home language) why you made those changes:

They then copy-and-pasted their story.

The results were quite impressive.

Next, I’ll meet with students to review the AI version of the story, clarify if they understood why the AI made those changes, and suggest one-or-two other revisions.

Let me know if you have suggestions on how I can improve this kind of activity!