I’ve started a somewhat regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention:

Language Travel Tips: How to Talk to Someone Who Doesn’t Speak Much English is from Slate, and could be a very helpful piece for ALL teachers to read.

Teaching English learners language of math is from Ed Source. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Teaching Common Core Math To English Language Learners.

California schools step up efforts to help ‘long-term English learners’ is from The Los Angeles Times.

California Puts More Attention on Long-Term English-Language Learners is a similar piece from Ed Week.

From Images to Words is a good post by Marisa Constantinides. I’m adding it to The Best Ways To Use Photos In Lessons.

Most Popular 2014 Blog Posts: The Crystal Ball Revisited is from Common Core and ELLs. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Common Core Standards & English Language Learners.

ETS Recommends Changes For English-Language Proficiency Assessments is from Education Week. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The “Next Generation” Of State Testing.


Film: ‘I Learn America’ Looks at Immigration Through Five Students’ Eyes
is an Ed Week post about an upcoming movie. Here’s its trailer:

Two Christmas Activities is from The British Council. I’m adding it to The Best Places To Learn About Christmas, Hanukkah, & Kwanzaa.