This blog has gained many new readers over the past year. Because of that, I thought it might be worth sharing a daily “A Look Back” where I share a best post from the past twelve years. You can also see all of my choices for “Best” posts here.

In 2009, I wrote my first book, Building Parent Engagement In Schools (with Lorie Hammond).

In 2013, The Library Media Connection  published a useful excerpt in chart from that book. It’s a one-page chart clearly highlighting the differences between parent engagement and parent involvement, and you can see it here.

If you’re interested in learning even more about those differences, you can read some other pieces I’ve written:

Involvement or Engagement? is the title of my lead article in an issue of ASCD Education Leadership.

Parent Involvement or Parent Engagement? at Learning First.

You might also want to check out My Best Posts, Articles & Interviews On Parent Engagement.