Amnesia is an Artificial Intelligence-powered site that designs a choose-your-own-adventure for any topic or place/time period you want.

It’s free.

I thought it was pretty impressive. It’s pretty text-heavy, though, and it didn’t seem to respond to my requests to make it accessible to a first grader.

However, I think it might have potential as a tool for teachers with students who have a higher English proficiency. For example, the above screenshot was from my asking it to explain Occam’s Razor, which is a topic in my IB Theory of Knowledge students. The novelty of it might make it an engaging activity.

Of course, AI can hallucinate, and it’s possible that this kind of activity could be as problematic as historical chatbots.

I am a fan of choose-your-own-adventure tools (see The Best Places To Read & Write “Choose Your Own Adventure” Stories), so I will experiment more with Amnesia.

I know others have already tried doing similar interactives with ChatGPT.  A problem is that many districts block ChatGPT, and I wonder if a site like Amnesia might make it through the firewall?