Study: Charts change hearts and minds better than words do is a new Washington Post article about a fascinating study.

Here’s an excerpt:

 

These findings are obviously useful for when educators are involved in education policy discussions.

They can also be useful when we teach our students to write persuasive/argument essays.  I’ve previously shared the results of other studies in a similar vein and how I use them when teaching about argument essays (see Important Research For Writing Persuasive Essays and A study finds that both experts and non-experts can be more persuasive when they express uncertainty).

Why not add chart-making into the mix?

Of course, if I/we do that, we probably also want to teach about misleading charts.  At the end of this post, I’ve embedded two videos I use in my IB Theory of Knowledge class to teach just that…

I’m adding this info to:

The Best Posts & Articles On Building Influence & Creating Change

The Best Online Resources For Helping Students Learn To Write Persuasive Essays