July 1st is Canada Day:

On July 1, 1867, the nation was officially born when the Constitution Act joined three provinces into one country: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the Canada province, which then split into Ontario and Quebec.

You might be interested inĀ The Best Sites To Learn About Canada.