My mid-year “Best” list posts continue…

I’m adding this post to All 2021 Mid-Year “Best” Lists In One Place!

I publish a regular series called Ed Tech Digest, and I thought it would useful to readers and to me to review them and highlight the ones I think are the best of the year.

You can see previous editions of this list, along with all the “Best” lists related to ed tech, here.

Here are my choices from the past six months:

Google has unveiled some big changes to Google Earth. Read about it in their posts, Time flies in Google Earth’s biggest update in years and in 3 ways Liza Goldberg uses Timelapse to explore the planet.

Here’s a video about it:

I’m adding this info to The Best Resources For Google Earth Beginners Like Me.

 

This is from Google:

Are you struggling to help your child with their math homework? Don’t worry, Google has your back. Type the  equation, like “x^2-3x-4=0”, into the Search bar or take a picture through Lens in the Google App to find step-by-step explanations in over 70 languages. We’re expanding support to even more types of math equations through our partnerships with Symbolab, Mathway (a Chegg Service), and Tiger Algebra which is coming. You’ll also be able to access a variety of explanations for how to solve math problems, increasing the chances that one of them may stick.

I’m adding it to The Best Apps, Online Tools & Other Resources For Math.

 

 

 

How Children Read Differently From Books vs. Screens is from The NY Times. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Which Is Best – Reading Digitally Or Reading Paper?

F.C.C. Approves a $50 Monthly High-Speed Internet Subsidy is from The NY Times.

Microsoft Math Solver is a new online tool that helps – and shows – you how to…solve math problems. I’m adding it to The Best Apps, Online Tools & Other Resources For Math.

PROOF POINTS: 114 studies on flipped classrooms show small payoff for big effort is from The Hechinger Report. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On The “Flipped Classroom” Idea.

iDialogue is a free virtual classroom that appears to be marketed as an alternative to Zoom.  One feature is that that highlight is connecting teachers and students to classes around the world.  I’m adding it to The Best Ways To Find Other Classes For Joint Online Projects.

Visit 100 cultural sites in Search is from Google. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Finding And Creating Virtual Field Trips.

Obtaining Permission To Blog With Students (With Example Forms And Guidelines) is from The Edublogger. I’m adding it to The Best Sources For Advice On Student Blogging and to The Best Teacher Resources For Online Student Safety & Legal Issues.

How to Simultaneously Caption and Translate Presentations is from Richard Byrne. I’m adding it to GOOGLE SLIDES GETS AUTOMATED CAPTIONS – HUGE HELP TO ONLINE TEACHERS OF ENGLISH; COULD MAYBE HELP IN REGULAR CLASSROOM. I’ve been making that post a repository for resources of different automatic captioning tools.

FINALLY, GOOGLE CREATES A CENTRAL TEACHERS’ HUB FOR ITS AMAZING “ARTS & CULTURE” SITE

GOOGLE DOODLE VIDEO COLLECTION CAN PROVIDE GOOD LESSON INTRODUCTIONS