BiljaST / Pixabay

 

Eight years ago I began this regular feature where I share a few posts and resources from around the Web related to ESL/EFL or to language in general that have caught my attention.

You might also be interested in THE BEST RESOURCES, ARTICLES & BLOG POSTS FOR TEACHERS OF ELLS IN 2021.

Also, check out A Collection Of My Best Resources On Teaching English Language Learners.

In addition, look for our book on teaching ELLs, which was published in the Spring of 2018 and learn about our new book.

Here are this week’s choices:

Providing Special Education Services for Multilingual Learners is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Assisting ELLs With Special Needs – Help Me Find More.

U.S. English Learners’ Language-Proficiency Scores Still Below Pre-Pandemic Years is from Ed Week.

I’m adding this tweet to The Best Ways To Use Photos In Lessons:

I’m adding this tweet to The Best Sites Where ELL’s Can Learn Vocabulary:

The authors of the paper I blogged about two years ago (see New Study Finds That The Presence Of Immigrant Students In Schools Helps Everybody, But Totally Misses Obvious Reason ) came out with a revised final version. Unfortunately, they still missed the obvious reason. Here’s what I wrote in my previous post:

They don’t even seem to mention the obvious reason, which is why our school has actively recruited English Language Learners students for many years:

Having ELLs in classes makes all of us better teachers because good ELL teaching is good teaching for everybody!

It makes all teachers have to more specifically take into consideration issues like prior knowledge, scaffolding, maximizing accessibility, etc.

How Learning a New Language Is Helping Me Connect With My Students is from Ed Surge.

How Much Can Duolingo Teach Us? is from The New Yorker.

I’m adding this next tweet to The Best Places To Find Research On Technology & Language Teaching/Learning: