geralt / Pixabay

 

Our new school year begins on the last day of this month so, as hard as it is, it’s time to start thinking about it.

Here are the Artificial Intelligence-powered tools I plan on using with my ELL Newcomer ELL students.  I’m dividing them into two categories – the first are ones that I used with them last year and which weren’t blocked then, and shouldn’t be now.

The second half are new ones I’ve learned about over the summer.  I don’t know if they’re blocked, and I don’t know how effective they’ll be.

Ones I’ve Used Before & Plan To Use Again

Speakable (see I SUSPECT THAT “SPEAKABLE” IS GOING TO BECOME A VERY POPULAR ONLINE TOOL FOR ELLS – IF IT ISN’T ALREADY…)

ReadM (“READM” LOOKS LIKE A GREAT NEW & FREE AI-POWERED SITE FOR ELLS)

Padlet’s “I Can’t Draw” feature worked very well to experiment with “text-to-image” AI in all my classes.

Quill‘s adaptive learning feature also worked well.

 

Ones I Hope To Use

Scraft (I Learned About The AI-Powered Site “Scraft” Today, & It’s Great For ELLs)

The Simple Show Video Maker (The “Simple Show Video Maker” Classroom Plan Looks Fantastic!)

The following sites seem to have reasonable free usage:

Chatlingo

Carlos appears to be free and, if it isn’t blocked by our school district content filters, I might have students try in the fall.

Gliglish also appears to be free.

LingoStar appears to require a paid subscription, but does seem to offer a fair amount of free exercises.  It also lets teachers create their own virtual “classroom,” though I couldn’t get that feature to work.

Flow seems to have a few new lessons are available for free each week (“Weekly Mix”), but you have to pay for access to more. Here’s a video about it:

 

Lang.App uses AI in a video-based tool.  A fair amount of its lessons seem to be free, but I can’t quite tell what you have to pay for and when.  Here’s a video about it:

 

TalkPal lets you chat for free fifteen minutes each day.

 

I’m adding this post to THE BEST POSTS ABOUT USING ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE WITH ELLS.