pencilparker / Pixabay

 

One of my more popular “Best” lists is The Best Collections Of Instructional Strategies, which share sites that offer short and practical descriptions of many different and effective…instructional strategies that teachers can quickly review and determine if they want to use any of them.

I thought it would be useful to begin creating a similar lists on instructional strategies specifically for English Language Learners.

Obviously, I’ve written books and many articles on this very topic (see A Collection Of My Best Resources On Teaching English Language Learners).  But, really, who can have too many instructional strategies at their disposal?

Please add more in the comments!

The GO TO Strategies: Scaffolding Options for Teachers of English Language Learners, K-12 is from The Center For Applied Linguistics.

Making It Real:Teaching Pre-literate Adult Refugee Students is from the Tacoma Community House Training Project.

I’m a big fan of these older Peace Corps manuals, which are not as clearly laid-out as the previous resources:

TEFL/TESL: Teaching English As a Foreign or Second Language

Teaching English As A Foreign Language To Large, Multi-Level Classes

I created this simple downloadable list of ELL accommodations for the faculty at my school. It doesn’t provide in-depth explanations, but I figured I’d put it on this list, anyway.

EduGains offers good ELL teaching tips for math and literacy.

HERE’S WHAT OUR TEACHERS HAVE LEARNED ABOUT TEACHING ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS

More Of What Our Teachers Have Learned About Teaching ELLs – PLUS New Video Of Students Sharing Their Experience

WHAT ANOTHER GROUP OF OUR TEACHERS LEARNED ABOUT TEACHING ELLS

The Internationals Network, a group of high schools serving ELLs, has a great list of Promising Practice Shares, where their teachers share strategies they use in the classroom. I’ve just begun going through it, and I think all ELL teachers will want to check it out.

INTERNATIONALS NETWORK RESOURCE BANK FOR SUPPORTING MULTILINGUAL LEARNERS looks like a great resource.

Accommodating ELLs is from The Gaming Grammarian. You might also be interested in TEACHERS MIGHT FIND THIS LIST OF ELL ACCOMMODATIONS USEFUL….

I’ve posted previously about the English Learners Success Forum. Today, though, I’d like to specifically highlight the portion of their website that’s for educators.

Classroom Observation Protocol Project GLAD®study is from Education Northwest.

G.L.A.D. Resource Book

Please let me know what I’m missing!