My end-of-year “Best” list posts continue…

I publish a regular series called SEL Weekly Update, and I thought it would useful to readers and to me to review them and highlight the ones I think are the best of the year.

You might also be interested in “Best” Lists Of The Week: Social Emotional Learning Resources. All my “Best” lists related to SEL, including previous editions of this Best list, can be found there.

Here are my choices from the past six months:

RESEARCH FINDING OF THE DAY: SEL CAN HELP A BIT, BUT NOT ENOUGH TO DISRUPT GAPS

NEW STUDY FINDS THAT RESTORATIVE PRACTICES WORKS IN CHICAGO SCHOOLS

ARE YOU AN “ILLUMINATOR” OR A “DIMINISHER”?

USING “A MILLION MILES AWAY” AS AN SEL OPPORTUNITY

LISTEN & READ WHAT I HAVE TO SAY ABOUT STUDENT MOTIVATION

POVERTY’S IMPACT ON SELF-CONTROL

NICE REVIEW OF MY LATEST BOOK ON STUDENT MOTIVATION

IF YOU’RE LOOKING FOR THE ESSAY, “REFLECTION ON MLK’S PAPER, ‘THE PURPOSE OF EDUCATION’”…

NEW META-ANALYSIS FINDS THAT SEL INSTRUCTION WORKS

I LIKE THE NEW SCIENCE OF “POSITIVE CHILDHOOD EXPERIENCES” & THE ROLE EDUCATORS CAN PLAY IN THEM

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ARTICLES I’VE READ ABOUT “FAILURE”

THIS MAY BE THE BEST & MOST USEFUL ARTICLE I’VE EVER READ ABOUT A “GROWTH MINDSET”

ENDING CURRICULUM VIOLENCE is from Learning For Justice. I’m adding it to The Best Ways For Responding To Student Trauma – Help Me Find More.

The Science of Belonging and Connection is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to THE BEST RESOURCES FOR LEARNING HOW TO PROMOTE A SENSE OF “BELONGING” AT SCHOOL.

I’m not a therapist, but I don’t need to be: let’s unpack “trauma-informed” vs. “trauma-specific” is by Alex Venet.

Nothing’s Going to Change My Mind: How Unconditional Positive Regard Transforms Classrooms is from Cult of Pedagogy.

Creating Connections With Black Male Students is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On The Importance Of Building Positive Relationships With Students.

What New Research Shows About the Link Between Achievement and SEL is from Ed Week.

Self-management interventions for reducing challenging behaviors among school-age students: A systematic review is from Calder Systematic Reviews. I’m adding it to Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control.   One of the great things about research from Calder is that they have “Plain Language Summaries.”

What Students Should Know About the Power of Practice is by Angela Duckworth. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About The 10,000 Hour Rule & Deliberate Practice.

Protecting Teen Mental Health is from Facing History.

Decision Making is from Character Lab. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Helping Students Make Good Decisions.