Yesterday, I published A Collection Of My Best Resources On Teaching English Language Learners, which brought together many of the materials on that topic that I have either written or collected.

And, since I also have a very large amount of materials on student motivation, I’ve decided to publish this post (I’ll also be writing one on parent engagement soon).

I’ve authored three books on helping students develop intrinsic motivation, and a fourth one will be published in 2019. There are a zillion free resources from them, including student hand-outs and lesson plans. Clicking on each of the book’s titles will lead you to all of those freebies:

Helping Students Motivate Themselves: Practical Answers To Classroom Problems

Self-Driven Learning: Teaching Strategies for Student Motivation

Building A Community Of Self-Motivated Learners: Strategies To Help Students Thrive In School and Beyond

Here are some articles I’ve authored or co-authored about student motivation (several are book excerpts). They’ve appeared in various publications, including The Washington Post, Edutopia, Education Week and ASCD Education Leadership:

I’ve published many columns in my Education Week Teacher “teacher advice” column on Student Motivation & Social Emotional Learning.

Justin Baeder at Principal Center Radio interviews me about student motivation in this podcast.

Choice Equals Power: How to Motivate Students to Learn is an article about my work and appeared in MindShift at KQED.

I did this fairly popular ten minute video on student motivation:

Here are some useful “Best” lists related to student motivation:

The Best Posts & Articles On “Motivating” Students

The Best Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Resources

The Best Resources On Helping Our Students Develop A “Growth Mindset”

The Best Resources For Learning About The Importance Of “Grit”

Best Posts On Students Setting Goals

Best Posts About Helping Students Develop Their Capacity For Self-Control

The Best Resources For Learning How To Best Give Feedback To Students

The Best Resources On “Gratitude”

The Best Ways To Use Stephen Curry & The Warriors For Teaching Social Emotional Learning Skills

The Best Resources For Learning About Mindfulness In The Classroom

The Best Resources On The Value Of Positive “Self-Talk”

The Best Resources On Students Having A “Purpose For Learning”

The Best Resources On Helping Students Make Good Decisions

The Best Resources On Student Agency & How To Encourage It

I did this Transfer of Learning video with Ed Week: