I’m continuing with my end-of-year “Best” list posts…

Seven years ago I began publishing a regular Classroom Instruction Resources Of The Week post.  You can see all my “Best” lists on instructional strategies here.

Here are my choices from the past few months:

It’s a little too late to have students participate in this year’s NY Times Learning Network contest, but their post is a useful resource for anytime: How to Write a 100-Word Narrative: A Guide for Our Tiny Memoir Contest.

5 Tips for Culturally Responsive Teaching in the Math Classroom is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources About “Culturally Responsive Teaching” & “Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy” – Please Share More!

Stop Talking in Code: Call Them Black Boys is from Learning For Justice. I’m adding it to New & Revised: Resources To Help Us Predominantly White Teachers To Reflect On How Race Influences Our Work.

4 Principles to Help Educators Teach Politically Charged Topics is from The 74. I’m adding it to The Best Posts & Articles On How To Teach “Controversial” Topics.

Guiding Students to See Themselves as Changemakers appeared in Edutopia. I’m adding it to THE “BEST” IDEAS FOR STUDENTS & CLASSES TO BE ENGAGED IN COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT PROJECTS – PLEASE CONTRIBUTE MORE IDEAS!

Establishing Opening and Closing Routines is from Facing History. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For “Do Now” Activities To Begin A Class and to The Best Questions To Use For Class Closing Activities — What Are Yours?

Want more meaningful classroom management? Here are 8 questions teachers can ask themselves. is from KQED. I’m adding it to Best Posts On Classroom Management.

Every Teacher Question From a Single Lesson is from Dan Meyer. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Professional Development For Teachers — Help Me Find More.

3 ways to teach with book excerpts instead of entire texts (and why this benefits students) is from Truth For Teachers.

Why It’s Important for Educators to Show Vulnerability is from ASCD. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Student & Teacher Reflection.

Documentation Panels Are a Novel Way for Students to Demonstrate Their Learning is from Edutopia. I’m adding it to The Best Resources For Learning About Effective Student & Teacher Assessments.

MY NEWEST BOOK ON STUDENT MOTIVATION IS DONE!

THE “BEST” IDEAS FOR STUDENTS & CLASSES TO BE ENGAGED IN COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT PROJECTS – PLEASE CONTRIBUTE MORE IDEAS!

THE “BEST” TOOLS FOR AUTOMATICALLY TURNING TEXTS & VIDEOS INTO INTERACTIVE LANGUAGE LEARNING TOOLS

THE BEST RESOURCES FOR LEARNING ABOUT THE “ESTABLISH-MAINTAIN-RESTORE” CLASSROOM MANAGEMENT APPROACH

THE BEST LISTS OF “ICEBREAKER” PROMPTS – PLEASE SHARE YOUR OWN

THREE EXCELLENT STUDENT IDENTITY “SELF-PORTRAIT” ACTIVITIES

THE BEST RESOURCES FOR LEARNING HOW TO USE PROJECT-BASED LEARNING & PROBLEM-BASED LEARNING IN YOUR CLASSROOM

Which generic phrases should teachers drop? is from TES. I’m adding it to THE BEST RESOURCES SHARING RECOMMENDATIONS ABOUT “TEACHER TALK”

6 Museums With Exceptional Teacher Resources is from Edutopia. I especially liked two “thinking guides” from one of the museums cited (The Columbus Museum of Art) that could be used with images. I’m adding them to The Best Ways To Use Photos In Lessons.

Seven Strategies for Getting the Most Out of Peer Feedback in the Classroom is from John Spencer. I’m adding it to The Best Ideas On Peer Review Of Student Writing.

How to Provide Effective Reading Instruction is a new report by Timothy Shanahan and published by The World Bank. I’m adding it to The Best Posts On Reading Strategies & Comprehension – Help Me Find More! , The Best Posts About Value Of Oral Reading In Partners For ELLs & Others and to The Best Resources On Reading Fluency (Including How To Measure It).

DON’T MIX THE SIX! THINKING ABOUT ASSESSMENT AS SIX DIFFERENT TOOLS WITH SIX DIFFERENT JOBS. is from Primary Timery. I’m adding it to A Collection Of “The Best” Lists On Assessment.

It’s Time to Stop Pretending We Have a “100-Point” Grading Scale is from The Center For Assessment. I’m adding it to DO WE GIVE A ZERO OR 50% FOR WORK NOT TURNED-IN? HERE ARE SOME USEFUL COMMENTARIES.

Writing Is Revising is from MATTHEW M. JOHNSON. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Getting Student Writers To “Buy-Into” Revision – Help Me Find More.

Trail of Bread Crumbs has tons of great graphic organizer writing structures. I’m adding it to The Best Scaffolded Writing Frames For Students.

Diagnosing ADHD Is Hard. Here’s What Teachers Need to Know is from Ed Week. I’m adding it to THE BEST RESOURCES FOR LEARNING ABOUT ADHD.

Critical Thinking Is About Asking Better Questions is from The Harvard Business Review. I’m adding it to The Best Resources On Teaching & Learning Critical Thinking In The Classroom and to The Best Posts & Articles About Asking Good Questions — Help Me Find More.